WEL Governance

Our business is steered by a group of experienced and capable directors who work together to ensure our business continues to perform well as we work to build a network for today and for the future.

Margaret Devlin (chairman)

Margaret is a professional Director operating predominantly in the infrastructure and service sector. Her current governance portfolio is as follows; Chairman of Harrison Grierson, Chairman of the Waikato Spatial Plan Joint Committee, Director of City Care Limited, Indepen NZ Limited, Waikato Regional Airport Limited, Titanium Park Limited, Meteorological Services of New Zealand Limited and IT Partners Group Advisory Board. She is also a Member of the National Infrastructure Advisory Board, is Chair of the Waikato District Council Audit and Risk Committee and is a member of the University of Waikato Finance and Audit Committee. She is a Chartered Fellow of The Institute of Directors In New Zealand Limited, is Chair of the Professional Committee and Chair of the Waikato branch and is a member of the Institute’s National Council and of the Human Resources Committee. Margaret has had significant experience in both the retail and infrastructure sectors. Margaret joined the Board in 2007 and was appointed Chair in 2014.

Paul McGilvary

Paul has been the Chief Executive of Tatua Co-operative Dairy Company, based in Morrinsville, since 2008.  He is also Chairman of the Japan, USA and Shanghai subsidiaries. Tatua’s focus is the manufacturing and marketing of complex value added products for the world’s food industry. Prior to that he was the Chief Executive of HortResearch, the largest plant and fruit research organisation in the world. Paul’s career to date has included business development and general management roles in a number of industries, including automotive, infrastructure and food, both in New Zealand and overseas. Paul was appointed to the Board in October 2009.

mark Franklin


Mark is currently Chief Executive of the Stevenson Group based in Auckland.  He is well known in New Zealand business and has previously held the roles of Chief Executive of Vector Limited and founding Chief Executive of TZ1, the global carbon registry.  Mark is also a Director of Ultrafast Fibre Limited and a former Director of New Zealand Railways Corporation.  Mark has been a member of the Prime Minister’s Climate Change Leadership forum and the Australia New Zealand Joint Prime Ministers Leadership Forum.  His other senior roles have included; Director of Operations for IBM Global Services Australia/New Zealand, Chief Executive of Interpath Australia and Executive Chairman of OSIX.  Mark was appointed to the Board in October 2009.

Anthony (Tony) Steele

Tony is a Chartered Accountant and has had a career in professional practice. He joined KPMG in 1988.  His specialty area was in Business Advisory Services, which included a wide range of commercial and corporate services. Tony retired from the practice in December 2009, after having served 11 years as the Managing Partner of the Hamilton office and a similar term on KPMG’s National Management Board. He is a fellow of the Institute of Directors. Tony has been an Independent Director and Chairman of Maisey Group (formerly Forlong and Maisey) Limited since 2002. He also sits on the Boards of several subsidiaries of Maisey Group Limited in both New Zealand and Australia. Since retiring from KPMG, Tony has accepted appointments as an Independent Director of several local private companies including Innovation Waikato Limited and Waikato Innovation Park Limited. Tony is also a Director of Ultrafast Fibre Limited.  He is also an independent member of the Audit and Risk Committee of Hamilton City Council.  Tony was appointed to the Board in October 2010.

BArry harris

Barry has extensive governance and executive experience.  Barry has held a number of Chief Executive roles including Environment Waikato, Greater Wellington Regional Council and Hamilton City Council. He was also a senior executive with Fonterra for five years.  Barry is currently Chairman of New Zealand Food Innovation (Waikato) Limited, Agricultural Services Limited and McFall Fuels Limited.  He is Deputy Chair of AgResearch (a Crown Research Institute) and is also a Director of DairyNZ, Primary ITO and OSPRI (formerly Animal Health Board).  Previous boards include CentrePort, RD1, International Nutritionals, Hamilton Riverside Hotels and Local Authority Shared Services. Barry was appointed to the Board in October 2014.

David wright

David is a professional company director and business consultant. He has held Chief Executive and senior management positions in the primary production, transport and electricity industries across both the private and state sectors. Previous appointments include Director of the Land Transport Safety Authority, Chairman of Ports Authority Tonga, Chairman and Acting Chief Executive of Tonga Power Limited, Chair of West Coast Energy Pty Limited and Chief Executive of Dairy InSight Incorporated. David is currently independent Chairman of the Air Rescue Group and Establishment Chair of Solomon Islands Airport Corporation Limited.  He is a Director of Wellington Water Limited and NZRS Limited and is a Director on the Advisory Board of the Global Safety Index Pty Limited.  David was appointed to the Board in October 2014.

Meet our Executive Team